Australian and New Zealand Society of Biomechanics

Affiliate Society of the International Society of Biomechanics


Every two years the ANZSB holds the Australasian Biomechanics Conference

Next ABC Meeting

ABC10 Logo

Host Institution

University of Melbourne, Melbourne Australia


The theme of the 2016 meeting is "Mechonobiology acrosss the Scales." As a discipline at the interface of biology and engineering, mechanobiology has grown significantly in the past decade. Major efforts have been made to better characterise the effects of physical forces on cells, tissues and organs. It is now well accepted that mechanical forces are involved in development, physiology, disease and repair processes.

Organising Committee

A/Prof Peter Pivonka
Dr David Ackland
Dr Romane Blanchard
Dr Michell Hall
Dr Tam Nguyen

Most Recent ABC Meeting - ABC9

Host Institution

University of Wollongong, Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health
Wollongong, NSW

Conference Dates

30 November - 2 December 2014

Organising Committee

Prof Julie Steele (Co-Chair)
Dr Karen Mickle (Co-Chair)
Dr Diane Harland (Co-Chair)
Dr Derdire McGhee
Celeste Coltman
James Forsyth
Sheridan Gho
Joshua Mattock
Paul Stapley

Previous ABC Meetings

Host Institution

Division of Biomechanics 
Faculty of Health Sciences 
The University of Sydney 

Conference Dates

February 1-2, 1996

Organising Committee

Peter Sinclair (Conference Convenor), University of Sydney
Wendy Gilleard (Registrar), University of Sydney
Richard Smith (Chair of Scientific Program), University of Sydney
Michael Lee (Scientific Program Coordinator), University of Sydney
Doric Swain (Assistant Registrar), University of Sydney
Ray Patton (Audiovisual Coordinator), University of Sydney

Conference Proceedings

Lee, M., Gilleard, W., Sinclair, P., Smith, R., & Swain, D. (Ed.) (1996).  Proceedings of the First Australasian Biomechanics Conference. 1-2 February, 1996, Sydney. ISBN 0 86758 999 X

Host Institution

Sport and Exercise Science Programme 
The University of Auckland 
Auckland  New Zealand

Conference Dates

January, 1998

Organising Committee

Associate Professor Bob Marshall, University of Auckland
Ms Patria Hume, University of Auckland
Dr Peter McNair, Auckland Institute of Technology
Mr Stephen Stanley, Auckland Institute of Technology

Conference Proceedings

Hume, P.A, Marshall, R.N, Hunter, P.J. Stanley, S., Anderson, I., and McNair, P. (Eds). (1998) 2nd Australia and New Zealand Society of Biomechanics Conference Book of Abstracts. The Department of Sport and Exercise Science, The University of Auckland, New Zealand. January 28 - 30, 1998. 136 pages. ISBN 0-73-049821

Host Institution

School of Physiotherapy and Exercise Science 
Griffith University 
PMB 50 Gold Coast Mail Centre 
Queensland 9726 AUSTRALIA

Conference Dates

January 31 - February 1, 2000

Organising Committee

Mr Rod Barrett (Chair), Griffith University
Dr Ricardo Simeoni, Griffith University
Dr Cassius D'Helon, Griffith University
Robyn Eather, Griffith University
Kylie Gould, Griffith University


Barrett, R., Simeoni, R., & D'Helon, C. (Eds.) (2000).   Book of Abstracts of the 3rd Australasian Biomechanics Conference (ABC3). School of Physiotherapy, 31 January-1 February: Griffith University.

Host Institution

Faculty of Health Sciences 
Latrobe University - Bundoora Campus 

Conference Dates

November 28 - 30, 2002

Conference Convenor

Associate Professor Tim Bach, La Trobe University

Host Institution

School of Safety Science 
The University of New South Wales (UNSW) 

Host Institution

Department of Sport & Exercise Science 
The University of Auckland City Campus 

Conference Dates

February 15-17, 2007

Conference Convenors

Uwe Kersting, PhD
Drew Smith, PhD
Sharon Walt, PhD

Host Institution

School of Physiotherapy and Exercise Science
Griffith University
Gold Coast

Conference Dates

30 November - 1 December, 2009

Organising Committee

Dr Peter Mills (Convenor)
Prof Peter Milburn
A/Prof Rod Barrett
A/Prof Chris Barclay
Dr Justin Kavanagh
Dr Glen Lichtwark
Dr Belinda Beck 

Host Institution

Australian Institute of Sport
Canberra, ACT

Conference Dates

28 - 29 November 2011

Organising Committee

Dr Nick Brown
Dr Conny Draper
Dr David Pease
John Baker
Wayne Spratford
Tracy Miosge
Dale Barnes